Original Town Council

On May 25, 1974, Double Oak became a town. Double Oak was the realization of James F. "Bill" Brittain’s dream of establishing a tax-free municipality in south central Denton County that became a reality. Double Oak was named after the old Double Oak School which was located on McMakin Road, and covers roughly 2 1/2 square miles. 

J.R. Griswald was elected the first Mayor on June 29, 1974. Succeeding him were Weldon Word, Tony Horvath, Richard Simmons, Bob Greer, Bernie Carrico, Chuck Bimmerle, Alan Johnson, Jay Wood, Rick Braud, Malcom Nordstrom, Jim Handzel, Richard Cook, Bill Wilkinson, Richard Cook, Pam King, Mike Donnelly and Tom Pidcock. Our current Mayor is Mike Donnelly.

In 1988, the Town of Double Oak paved the way for establishing the Double Oak Police Department. It was officially activated during the Council Meeting on October 3rd, 1988 at 7:30pm. Double Oak PD began using Denton County Sheriff’s Office Dispatch for receiving calls for service, reducing response times to a matter of minutes. The police department began actively patrolling the streets of Double Oak for it’s citizen’s protection under it's first police chief, Rick Braud.

Today, Double Oak is a volunteer town of approximately 3,218 people as of 2020.

Double Oak is defined as a General Law City and is restricted to single family residences with a minimum 1-acre lot size. Residents govern Double Oak represented by a mayor and a town council of five members. Double Oak is protected 24-hours a day, 365 days a year, by the Double Oak Police Department which includes 8 full-time police officers, and 4 reserve police officers, and is covered by a highly experienced volunteer fire department. The Town staff consists of the town secretary, assistant town secretary, municipal court clerk, and a part-time school crossing guard.