Driving Safety Course
How to Request a Driving Safety Course
You may be eligible to attend a Driving Safety Course or a Motorcycle Safety Course (if you were operating a motorcycle at the time of the citation) for dismissal of your citation.
You can only take a Driving Safety Course for ONE violation every 12 months.
You are eligible for a Driving Safety Course if:
- You do not possess a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License).
- You have not completed a Driving Safety Course for citation dismissal in the previous 12 months (calculated from date of previous completion to the violation date of your current citation).
- You have a valid Texas Driver’s License or permit or are currently in the military.
- You have valid proof of insurance showing you as a covered driver (must be listed).
- Your violation was not in a construction/work zone with workers present.
- Your citation was for a moving violation.
- If cited for speeding, your actual speed must be less than 25 mph (24 and under) over the speed limit.
- If you were cited for transporting a child not in a safety seat or child passenger safety seat system you must take a driving safety course that has four hours of instruction about seat belts and child passenger safety seat systems.
If you are eligible, you may sign up for a Driving Safety Course by sending the following 5 items to the Court or appearing at the Court on or before your appearance date:
- Required fees – $144.00 for Non-School Zone Violations or $169.00 if you were in a School Zone.
- A copy of your valid Texas Driver’s License; and
- A copy of your valid Texas Liability Insurance showing you as a covered driver (must be listed); and
- The Driving Safety Course Request Form signed; and
- A copy of your citation.
**** Do Not Take the Course Until You Have Obtained Permission From the Court. ****
Instructions for Completing a Driver’s Safety Course (DSC)
Upon court approval to take the course, you will have ninety (90) days to complete a Driving Safety Course and to provide the court with the two following documents:
1). To Find a Driving Safety Course (DSC) (Required for Deferred Disposition if Under 25)
- Go to: Driver Education & Driving Safety.
- Find and complete a Classroom or Online Driving Safety Course.
- Verify the court selected is for Double Oak Municipal Court.
- Have your certificate mailed or printed off.
- Sign the Court copy of the State of Texas Driving Safety Course Uniform Certificate of Completion.
It is your responsibility to make arrangements to take the driver’s safety course. Failure to complete the Driver’s Safety Course and return the required forms will result in the termination of your right to take the course. Should this happen, you will be responsible for paying the fine in full and the offense will be reported as a conviction on your driving record.
2). To get a Certified Driving Record (Not necessary if doing Deferred Disposition)
- Go to: How to Order a Driver Record.
- Select Certified Driving Record (Type 3A – Certified List of All Accidents and Violations on Record).
The court will only accept a Certified Driving Record from the Department of Public Safety.
3). Return your documents to the Court by one of the following methods:
- In person during business hours.
- By mail: Double Oak Municipal Court, 320 Waketon Road, Double Oak, Texas 75077
- Using the drop box outside the court building after business hours.
- Contact by phone 972-539-9464 if you wish to email PDF’s. (must be signed before sending)
- By fax: (972)539-9613 (must be signed before sending)
If these two documents are not filed with the court within ninety (90) days you will be sent a notice to come to a Show Cause Hearing in front of the Judge where you could be responsible for payment of the fine, thereby having the offense reported on your driving record and a warrant may be issued for your arrest.
NO EXTENSIONS WILL BE GRANTED.
Upon completion your violation will be dismissed.